Tell us something about yourself

3 Jul

interview

This is one trick question I’m sure most of us must have faced during some interview. You wonder that since you’ve introduced yourself as you entered the office and the interviewer already has your CV so what exactly are they asking you to tell about? Well, trust me, the interviewer is neither curious about your marital status (at least not so soon) nor interested in the number of siblings you have or whether you are the oldest or the youngest. This question is more like an icebreaker where the interviewer wants you to get comfortable for the rest of the questions. So what is the perfect answer? I’ve been through a number of interviews and I’d like to share my strategy in answering such questions. I begin with a few sentences about myself using adjectives apt for the position such as quick learner, dedicated, capable of working under pressure etc and gradually change the direction towards my strengths. This way, even before I finish answering the first question, I already know that the second question would be about my weaknesses. Hence, you can shoot two birds with a single shot. This is a tried and tested plan that has always worked successfully at least for me. During an interview just make sure you are calm and confident and carefully try to shift the focus of the interviewer towards your pet points. This way you can control the direction of your interview and predict future questions without letting the interviewer know. Most importantly, please do not lie during an interview. The interviewer is sitting on that chair for some reason and he cannot be fooled so easily. I hope this post will help you in preparing for your interview. If you have any better answer to this question please don’t forget to share it with me. Best of luck! πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “Tell us something about yourself”

  1. ayesha July 8, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    i hope i get an opportunity to utilize your tips πŸ˜€
    great post.

    Like

  2. jane July 3, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    Another great post, lady! You are doing a great job. Just keep writing! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • iExpressBlog July 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Thanks a lot for the appreciation, Jane. Just keep reading and I’ll keep writing for you all! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

