Can we be friends?

6 Jul

image

Sometimes I wonder how we make friends. I mean, how do we know who is supposed to be our friend while rest are just aquaintances? Is it our similarities that hold us together or the fact that we can be as different as chalk and cheese and still be crazy alike? Just because you can share a laugh together or shed a tear comfortably in front of one another, do you become friends? Also, what is the difference between a best friend and just-a-friend? We do enjoy the company of all our friends and understand eachother too. This is why we are friends, right? Then what makes a best friend so special?

image

I’m sure most of you would say that you share every little secret with your best friend while your just-friends are kept at some distance. I am happy if you have found such a friend but my definition of a best friend is slightly different. I am a very private person who is not comfortable with sharing every intimate detail of my life with anyone. And anyone means anyone. Its not about not trusting anyone or the fear of being judged or rejected. Its just the way I am. Call me a special case of self-effacement and I won’t mind. For me my best friend is someone I trust so much that I am sure if ever I need to vent out about anything, no matter how big or stupid, I’ll always have them available. Its very difficult for a person as reserved as me to let her guards down and open up emotionally. Hence, there are a lot of things in my life that I have never discussed with anyone and wouldn’t like to discuss too. But my best friend is someone I know I can open up to any time. It is this faith that makes them my best friend.

image

As far as I can remember I never ‘made’ any best friend on purpose. It just happened. The moment we opened our witty mouths and exhanged mischievous glances in our first class at school I knew we were born to be great friends. We could instantly feel some connection which is still there. Since then its been over fifteen years now and I feel truly blessed to have such a friend who is my partner-in-fun, an honest critic and a sincere advisor. And above all, someone I can pour my heart out to whenever I feel like. πŸ™‚

image

6 Responses to “Can we be friends?”

  1. ayesha July 8, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    May you be inseparable with your best friend forever Amen πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. jane July 6, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    Totally relatable! Good post.

    Like

  3. Sarah July 6, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    Your best friend must be very lucky!

    Like

Leave a Reply

