To be chivalrous or not to be…

23 Apr

A conversation with one of my old friends has urged me to come up with this post. We started out on a pretty humourous note but ended up in a conflict. She joked to me that if you see a man opening the door of his car for his wife then either the wife is new or the car. It was a pretty funny statement to which I randomly replied that chivalry is almost dead these days so it must be true. She asked me if I wanted my man to open the door for me or offer me a seat and I replied in affirmative. She was rather amazed and commented how she thought I was a strong, independent woman with a firm sense of equality. I was quite taken a back by her idea of independence and equality. This actually got me thinking how badly chivalry is mixed up with anti-feminism and the notion of women playing the role of damsels in distress. I mean, if I expect a man to open the door for me then this, for me, is a polite gesture and has nothing to do with my sense of equality. And, I’d be more than happy to return the favour some other day. When women, in general, claim that they prefer chivalrous men then they just want to enjoy some special treatment. We do not expect every man to be this polite but at least there is no harm in wanting the men in our lives to be courteous. After all, only a prince can treat his woman like a princess. Sadly, chivalry is fading out so quickly that it is often confused with flirting today. What is your take on this matter? Don’t forget to drop your views in the comment section below.

4 Responses to “To be chivalrous or not to be…”

  1. Sarah Jane April 23, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

    Loved the post. Especially the title! Same thoughts as mine.

    Like

  2. Samaira April 23, 2015 at 6:48 pm #

    Absolutely correct! Thank God I’m blessed with chivalrous men in my life πŸ™‚

    Like

    • iExpressBlog April 24, 2015 at 12:27 am #

      Glad to know that you are so blessed, Samaira. Stay blessed! XOXO

      Like

Leave a Reply

